Division of Labor

This little chore chart was my first Midwestern craft project. And, like most of my undertakings, it was born of necessity. With six kiddos, it gets hard to keep track of whose jobs are whose. Naturally, I could have made a chart on the back of an envelope, stuck it on the fridge, and called it a day, but I chose instead to cut, paste, punch and drill my way to chore-ganization.

Step one: Spend a quarter on a bulletin board at thrift shop.
Step two: Spend 2 days digging through basement of rental house in search of boxes of craft stuff.
Step three: Give up, go to Michaels and spend 40% less than highway robbery on box of cool scrapbook paper.
Step four: Open box of ridiculously-expensive-even-with-a-coupon scrapbook paper, then locate “missing” boxes of craft supplies in “safe place.”
Step five: Inadvertently teach children varied and colorful assortment of swear words.
Step six: Spend three days sifting through forgotten goodies.
Step seven: Use scrapbook paper, paper punches, rubber stamps, punch out letters, etc, to create job board and hang tags.
Step eight: Mod podge board, then drive in many many nails to hang jobs on. (Take this opportunity to further expand expletive vocabulary of offspring.)
Step nine: Struggle valiantly to refrain from employing aforementioned vocabulary while assigning chores to unwilling loin-fruit.
Step ten: Admire, hang on wall, and promptly draft into use as key/camera hanging station.

11 Responses

  1. You lost me on step #4.

    • Ahh…just like the good old days, Jonathan. It’s been a while since you’ve edited my stuff! Remember our dot-matrix printer and the rolling waxer? Yup, we’re old.

      • Umm… i remember when “cut and paste” actually meant you take the scissors, cut out this paragraph, and paste it in the next column! Kids today have NO idea how easy they’ve got it! Remember all that blasted decorative tape we’d use on the layouts, and it was always a chore to get the layout to the printer without all the articles falling off the layout paper?? I’m cracking up just thinking about it… But when did I get old?

      • I bought a load of border tape at a yard sale a couple of years ago. No clue why, exactly, but I got to tell the kids about The Olden Days, so I guess it was a homeschool expenditure. Except we weren’t homeschooling at that point, so I guess it was just another impulse buy, dangit.

  2. You make me look like I take medicine for my OCD!

  3. I know you put my name on your board on purpose…

  4. Wendy, I love this and your blog is so great! You do realiZe that your chart is BRILLIANT but would never work @ polatoff ranch. You see you had the v ery good sense. Never to.double up on 1st name letters. Had we tried this clever chart, mass chaos would surely have erupted! Thankfully, I am able to scream at beyond human levels, and some chores [soMetimes] get done!xoxoxo sharon

    • Sharon– Feel free to come and scream at my brood anytime…

      • so Yudi very sweetly buys me a blackberry for our anniversary, and I have been blessed w/ the world’s chubbiest fingers, howeva, I do loooove it, as if I need more time to waste! I thought my comment didn’t show, but – it did.
        I LOVE your blog, I have read a few at this point and I really think yours is great, fun, well written, just…great! Keep us informed and up to the minute and yasher koach on all your creativity and “craftyness”. ❤

Leave a Reply

