My Book-Stack

There’s always a Pisa-esque stack of books threatening to topple off of my night table. The fruits of my frequent library raids keep me entertained while I nurse the baby, and in the (highly unlikely) event that I have a few minutes to spare, I bury my nose in a book. While I do read my fair share of fiction, my book-stack tends toward the how-to, DIY variety. You can gauge my obsession-of-the-month (week?) by scanning the stack at my bedside. (My bookmarks kind of echo my library pile in that regard.) Right now I’m enthralled with the whole urban-homestead movement. I’m planning our garden with a vengeance borne of cabin fever, and the kids are drawing up increasingly complex chicken-coop plans.

Now you tell me: what’s in your book-stack?

9 Responses

  1. I loved owning chickens. My deed restricted community doesn’t allow me to have any. Maybe it would keep the reptile (iguanas and curly tail lizards) population in check. Although the cold might just do that for now.

  2. I need a better insect repellent. My corn keeps getting beetles.

  3. Chickens are nice. When you do get them, just make sure that the kids don’t get around to naming them. It’ll just make things harder down the road. That is, unless you name them “Sunday,” “Monday,” “Tuesday,” etc., etc.

    • Nobody’s shechting these chickies! They’re are strictly for egg and 4-H purposes, Jonathan. Buy Empire.

  4. book: Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel: A historical novel re: Thomas Cromwell… interesting, but I found Sansom’s Matthew Shardlake series to be faster read (more enthralling mysteries of the same period).

  5. “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” (see facebook for the on-going discussion), “Get Out of My Life!, But first could you take me and Cheryl to the mall” (book about Teenagers) and “People of the Book” (the novel). Other than that it’s magazines and catalogs. Do you get the Garden’s Alive catalog?

Leave a Reply

