For Chava: Fat-Free Pumpkin Muffins

My kiddos call these ‘Pumpkin Pasties,’ and they eat them straight from the pan. They’ll keep, theoretically, in the freezer, for months…just pop them in the microwave for 20 seconds and enjoy! You can also make this recipe in a loaf pan or Bundt pan.

1 large can pumpkin
1 c. applesauce
8 eggwhites or 4 eggs
2 c. brown sugar
3.5 c. whole wheat flour (I like King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat)
2 t. baking powder
2 t. baking soda
1 t. salt
1 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. nutmeg
2 t. ginger
1/2 t. cloves
2/3 c. orange juice (I use Rice Dream)
1 c. raisins, craisins, nuts, chocolate chips or chopped dates (the chocolate chips kind of kill the “fat-free” deal, but they’re yummy!

mix, fill (sprayed) muffin cups 2/3 full, and bake until done. 🙂

7 Responses

  1. Hi Wendy, We’re on the same channel, I just made pumpkin soup and my 6 year old ate 3 bowls full! This recipe sounds great, just I need to convert the canned pumpkin to actual pumpkin (no canned pumpkin in Israel, at least not in my neck of the woods) what is the weight in ounces of your can of pumpkin? Thanks so much, and do visit me over at creativejewishmom.com!

    • Hi, Sara Rivka.
      My pumpkin comes in 29 ounce cans. Next year, IY”H, our pumpkin will come out of our garden! RIght now, though, we rely on Libby’s. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by…your blog is one of my regular reads!

  2. Will try tonight and report back.

    Now I”m thinking maybe I should plant pie pumpkins in my new raised bed I’m planting….

    I think I need a bigger deep freeze.

    • Yup, got punkins on my list…and if you were still wondering, you use raspberry extract in place of the vanilla, then drizzle the tops of the finished meringues with melted chocolate. Then, people who’ve never so much as spoken to you begin to fall at your feet and drool for more.

  3. Wait – is this the 29 oz “large can” of pumpkin or just a 15 oz can (what I would call regular sized)? 29 oz seems like a lot of pumpkin. Please let me know ASAP – have a crew waiting for pumpkin muffins.

  4. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

